Nominations sought for Champion of Open Government award

The Ohio Coalition for Open Government (OCOG) is seeking nominations for the second annual Champion of Open Government award. The award will recognize those individuals and groups who have worked to improve open government in Ohio.


The Champion of Open Government (COG) Award recognizes the passion and mission of ongoing advocacy and contributions to open and transparent government in Ohio. Recipient can be either an individual or organization, including but not limited to:

  • Journalists (Traditional Print; Radio/TV Broadcast; Digital)
  • Government officials/legislators/judicial officials
  • Anyone representing a level of government from a Township Trustee to Governor, and every elected or appointed official in between.
  • Any citizen or lawyer.

Nomination(s) should be sent to Jason Sanford at Nominations should include the name of both the nominee(s) and the person submitting the nomination; contact information; a brief one page synopsis of the nominee’s particular accomplishment; and any other support information (news clippings, links, etc.) that may help the judges to decide.

 Deadline for nominations is December 15, 2016.

Judging will be completed by a panel of engaged and knowledgeable professionals appointed by the OCOG board of directors.

The award will be presented during the ONA Annual Convention in February, 2017.

OCOG is a tax-exempt 501 (c)(3) corporation established by the Ohio Newspapers Foundation in June 1992. The Coalition is operated for charitable and educational purposes by conducting and supporting activities to benefit those who seek compliance with public access laws. It is also affiliated with a national network of similar state coalitions.